Select Page

Youth fill curling rink for big junior bonspiel

Youth fill curling rink for big junior bonspiel

All the action got underway on Saturday morning when 47 young curlers filled the Eastlink Curling Centre for the 2020 Oliver Junior Bonspiel. 

Teams played in either the competitive division or the novice division.  

The competitive division had four teams, two from Oliver and two from Kelowna that played two eight-end games. 

The novice division was composed of eight teams put together with players from Oliver, Penticton, Summerland and Kelowna. The novice teams played several one-hour games. 

In total, 12 junior curlers from the Oliver Curling Club participated in the bonspiel: Tyler Antunes, Brodie Bracken, Cienna Fossett, Davin Graham, Kaysen Graham, Kayla Koteles, Ethan Koteles, Maddie Miller, Brandon Paetkau, Kaitlyn Rouw, Josh Simon-Allen, and Harmony Swan-Hall.

 Each junior curler had four hours of curling, along with a fantastic lunch of chili, macaroni and cheese, chicken soup, hot dogs, garlic toast and ice cream that volunteers and parents also devoured.  The lunch was prepared by Tony Murray and Sylvia Lowe. 

The day wrapped up with the awards ceremony and a huge thank you to all participants and parents, to the many volunteers and organizers, and especially to the Kiwanis Club of Oliver for their ongoing support of the Oliver Curling Club’s Junior Program. Fiona Wood from the Oliver Kiwanis presented a $1,000 cheque, which was gratefully accepted by junior curler Brandon Paetkau on behalf of all the junior curlers and Oliver Curling Club. 

Competitive division results:

1st prize: Team Antunes of Oliver: Tyler Antunes (skip), Zack Kuechles, Jacob Martin and Eric Waller.

2nd prize: Team Wielgosz of Kelowna: Elijah Wielgosz (skip), Connor Applegate, Zach Wielgosz and Desmond Johns.

3rd prize: Team Paetkau of Oliver: Brandon Paetkau (skip), Rhett St. John, Hillary Robertson, and Kaitlyn Rouw.

4th prize: Team Manning of Penticton: Erin Manning (skip), Rachel Lane, Miranda Allen and Audrey Gosse.

On the novice side, skip Owen Jaeger of Kelowna and his team took first place. Second place was a tie between teams skipped by Dawson and Alexanda, both from Penticton.

Ad Space – Square S1



Ad Space – Square S2

Recent Obituaries

Pin It on Pinterest